Bronze/Silver/Gold Award Scheme

This award progresses through Bronze, Silver and Gold and Universities levels, and can also link to the A.S.D.A.N. Further Education Award programme. Each programme is designed to develop, assess and accredit Key Skills, and recognise your personal achievements, which can help to build a National Record of Achievement. Students complete practical challenges to achieve credits in a chosen section of interest.
The programmes offer imaginative ways of developing, recording and certificating a wide range of young people's personal qualities, abilities and achievements, as well as introducing them to new activities and challenges.


Who are they for?

Differentiated to offer two levels of Award within the same book, Bronze/Silver can be used:

• At Key Stage 4 (but also post-16).

• With students in Years 9, 10 and 11, either within the whole school tutorial/PSHE programme.

• In some schools as a major part of the curriculum, so tutors can engage students in the development of relevant life skills.Students select a number of challenges from the 12 modules that make up the Bronze/Silver Award programme:

• Information Handling

• The Community

• Sport and Leisure

• Home Management

• The Environment

• Number Handling

• Health and Survival

• World of Work

• Technology

• The Wider World

• Expressive Arts

• Beliefs and Values

Students gain 1 or 2 credits for each section completed, with each credit representing about 10 hours of activity. Credits can also be acquired from other programmes, such as Short Courses.Six credits (approx. 60 hours) are needed to complete the Bronze Award and 12 credits (approx. 120 hours) are needed to complete the Silver Challenge or Silver Award. To achieve Gold the students add another six credits to their Silver award.